Rue Cler

7 Jan

Samantha Here: A short jaunt from one end to the other, Rue Cler is an old world market and business corridor that, if not for the modernly dressed locals gabbing on their cell phones, would you make you think you’ve gone back in time a few centuries. Boulangeries (bakeries), pattiseries (pastry shops), cheese and spice boutiques, butchers, tobacco shops, florists, artisan chocolatiers, and cafés intermingle on this pedestrian-only street. Be careful, or the smell of roses, the sight of glossy chocolates, the feel of ripe apples might mesmerize you and keep you hostage for yet another century. Here are some captures of their delicacies:

Pears

Pears

Potted purple flowers

Potted purple flowers

Cheese, Cheese, and more Cheese!

Cheese, Cheese, and more Cheese!

Just imagine how good it smells!

Just imagine how good it smells!

Wine...makes every meal better! Well, maybe except for breakfast...

Wine...makes every meal better! Well, maybe except for breakfast...

Roses - can't go wrong here!

Roses - can't go wrong here!

Oranges - they leave the stems on them, which I think make them look better!

Oranges - they leave the stems on them, which I think make them look better!

Palmiers - so good!

Palmiers - so good!

Poppys - some of my favorite flowers!

Poppys - some of my favorite flowers!

Love these vibrantly green leafs and flower bulbs

Love these vibrantly green leafs and flower bulbs

 

Admiring the Beauty

Admiring the Beauty

We ate lunch at “the” place on Rue Cler, Café du Marché, and though I was skeptical at first, I will confidently say that this was my best meal thus far in Paris. Unfortunately, I’m not hugely into seafood…or lamb…or raw beef…so, my options tend to be a smidgen limited on most French menus. But after sitting down (our table was literally touching the table next to it…I tell you what, those French cram people in their restaurants like sardines), I saw that the woman next to me received a colorful tandoori chicken salad adorned with carrots, green beans, tomatoes, cauliflower, cabbage, and, my favorite, couscous. I had to have it.

As I savored the intertwining flavors of my salad, my mom fawned over her rigatoni soaked in white truffle sauce and topped with parmesan. Of course, we slurped everything down with a bottle of their house white. Not much from the outside, this restaurant had a lot to behold from within, and I’m glad we got to see what all the local hubbub was all about.

Tandoori Chicken Caesar Salad / White Truffle Sauce Rigatoni

Tandoori Chicken Caesar Salad / White Truffle Sauce Rigatoni

Café du Marché - Don't judge a restaurant by its exterior

Café du Marché - Don't judge a restaurant by its exterior

After a feast for our eyes and stomachs, we ventured over to the Eiffel Tower popping in and out of stores along the way. We picked up a lovely bouquet of white tulips and purple hyacinths. The florist must have thought we were a bit charming as he slipped a single rose in with the bunch. Glad to have something to spruce up the apartment with.

Nothing philosophical in this blog – just some eye candy with the photos! I’ll leave you with a few more shots of the Eiffel Tower – ain’t she a beauty?! I can’t get enough.

Eiffel Tower 1

Eiffel Tower 1

Eiffel Tower 2

Eiffel Tower 2

Eiffel Tower 3

Eiffel Tower 3

5 Responses to “Rue Cler”

  1. rachel January 7, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    lovely!! i love the shots of the eiffel tower & all the great detail shots of the market! :) great logo btw :)!

    • Samantha February 1, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      Thanks, girl. It’s hard to take a bad picture of a structure that’s so beautiful. And thank you for the compliment on the logo – I hope it doesn’t come across as being haughty, because I’m the first person to admit that I’m not a real photographer. It’s just too darn easy to steal photos these days. :)

  2. Jana Hyde January 11, 2011 at 3:11 am #

    There’s also a lovely linen shop on Rue Cler, with a friendly owner who will help you choose just the right tea towel or napkins or…

    • Samantha February 1, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

      Sounds wonderful! We found another linen store on Rue de Rivoli with GORGEOUS hand embroidered runners and table cloths, but they cost an arm and a leg! Dommage.

    • Rhonda March 28, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

      We just returned from Paris where we stayed near the shop I think you are speaking of. She writes the totals on small cards. I was trying to find a web site from which to order but could not remember its name. I made several small purchases of tea towels, soaps, and sachets. It was indeed a lovely little shop if we are speaking of the same place.

Leave a comment